Latest Reviews

Rating:  
ATC SCM11
Tuesday, 20 June 2017  |  Fabian

I am pleased with these speakers, which are ample for a smallish listening room. Partnered with Sonos Connect/Rotel amp. Good and courteous service from Igloo.


Rating:  
Igloo Audio
Tuesday, 13 June 2017  |  J

I got Aries mini. Called Igloo and spoke to a gentleman. He was courteous, knowledgable and helpful. I placed an order for the Sbooster right after. Item arrived next day and has improved the Aries mini greatly. I was very impressed with Igloo. Old fashion service customer care was exemplary. Highly recommended.


Rating:  
ATC magic
Tuesday, 6 June 2017  |  Jonathan

I listened to a lot of speakers before buying the ATC SCM40s and for me they strike the perfect balance between being detailed and insightful, yet still sound natural and musical. ATC's midrange drivers are pretty special I think. Peter couldn't have been more helpful in advising on this and other equipment.


Rating:  
A breath of fresh air!
Monday, 5 June 2017  |  Mark

These speakers are a revelation. Beautiful tight tuneful Bass, silky smooth top end and a midrange that has so much detail! Highly recommended. As is the service from Peter & Karen of Igloo Audio. Thank you both.


Rating:  
Beautiful Paradox
Monday, 22 May 2017  |  SJ

The short of it: stunningly good speakers. Musical. neutral, transparent, effortless, unfatiguing, without being analytical.

I am thoroughly enjoying these Grahams. Now two months in, I have held off writing a review because I don't really know how to put into words the effect they have! It's like they are so transparent that they are not there, but with great authority and presence! It's very paradoxical, but utterly lovely.

I have tried them with the Benchmark HABs, and they did not respond as well I would have thought. The modest Icon Audio single-ended valve amp pushing 20 Watts per channel of pure Class A triode goodness, is simply leaps and bounds ahead in precision and musicality through the Grahams. Bass extends forever and the highs scintillate clearly with no hint of brashness. Go figure. On paper it should be the other way round. These Grahams are, like I said, paradoxical.

I've also been faffing around with new sources. Again, the Benchmark kit (DAC2 into HABs) was lacklustre. Get this, though: Sony's new high-end "headphone" DAC/amp (TA-ZH1ES) is amazing as a source/DAC component. It beats the Benchmark DAC2 by a mile, and beats the Chord Qute, too. Amazingly capable bit of engineering from Sony.

So I have this nice synergy going with SONY -> Icon Audio valves -> Grahams.

Vinyl is magical. I have Icon Audio's current top-of-the-range phono amp, so my analogue signal path is all controlled by valves. The Grahams seem to love valves so much more than solid state.

Anyway, I am descending into audiophile voodoo drivel! Who knows how or why these synergies hit the spot, but Icon's tubes and the Grahams are a deliciously sweet spot, and being driven by a SONY headphone amplifier. WTF!!!

(Footnote: Bizarrely, the Benchmark kit is a much better match with my Falcon LS3/5a speakers (they are rated at a daunting 15 Ohms). It drives them completely differently from the Grahams, and better than the Icon Audio valves do. Synergies, I guess. And that 15 Ohm impedance is a b**ch to drive, and the HABs have got the grunt to do it.)


Rating:  
Subwoofer equalisation
Thursday, 18 May 2017  |  Andre

I used this to reduce some room resonances with my subwoofers. I used Room Eq Wizard with a umik-1 and the minidsp plugin to determine the correct eq curves.
Sounds so much better, much more life to the low end but much more controlled and less boom.
The remote control makes it easy to switch profiles and A B compare different eq or no eq.


Rating:  
Marvellous naturally
Sunday, 14 May 2017  |  Sean

Moving up from an Exposure XV I was thrilled to hear that unmistakable Exposure sound with natural musicality at its heart. But with oh so much more. The treble is sweet and pure: strings shimmer, voices really do sing. The timing is a delight and if you like the snap of a snare drum you will rarely have found it so sharp and tuneful. Presentation is notably detailed, but the music never loses its centre unlike some I have heard where disparate elements are scattered across the soundstage like an unassembled jigsaw.
We all hear things differently so listen for yourself. but this amp for me was everything I had hoped for, and a little bit more.


Rating:  
A Fine Amplifier
Tuesday, 9 May 2017  |  Kurt

I needed to replace DAC/Pre / NAP100 with an integrated amp.
The 2010SD2 provides ample power for my Harbeth P3ESRs.
I'd describe the sound as smooth, detailed and controlled.
Excellent service from Igloo Audio.
Thanks to Peter for his advice on my upgrade path.


Rating:  
Great sounding DAC
Tuesday, 9 May 2017  |  Kurt

This was an upgrade from an Audiolab MDAC.
It's definitely a step up in all areas of sound quality for me.
Excellent service from Igloo Audio.
Thanks to Peter for his advice on my upgrade path.


Rating:  
Good integrated amp
Wednesday, 26 April 2017  |  Alan

Yes it has been a good addition to my Hifi setup (it replaced Exposure X amp). After running it in after 48 hrs I have noticed a more balanced sound and it further benefitted from BI-wiring in my instance. Listening to words is now easy and it reflects the way the CD or Vinyl was recorded. I can now appreciate a wider choice of music, some I had previously discounted such as Adele and Bob Dylan. Not being able to demo it in advance I have found that the reviews to be accurate. I was prompted to buy it with the discounted price and discussions with Peter (Igloo audio) who provided me good advice and backup. Having listened to other amps and not being impressed.


Rating:  
Top notch.
Wednesday, 26 April 2017  |  Henry

This worked straight from the box, as it already had the latest firmware installed. I feed it direct into my ATC P2 power amp. No need for a pre-amp! Very clear sound reproduction. I definitely can hear more extracted from each track as the manufacturers claim. Roon ready too. Firmware can be upgraded from PS Audio's website. Good community forum there too.


Rating:  
Quality product.
Wednesday, 26 April 2017  |  Henry

A very well constructed cable with good quality connectors, and which works very well. Very good value.


Rating:  
Good, but pricey.
Wednesday, 26 April 2017  |  Henry

I'm using this with an Aries Mini, and it definitely does improve the sound quality, although in a very subtle way, and is comparatively quite an expensive upgrade for what is already a fine performer. Hence only four stars.


Rating:  
Definite improvement
Wednesday, 26 April 2017  |  Henry

This is a palpable upgrade from my P1, with tighter base and clearer definition in the midrange. Looks good too.


Rating:  
Amazing natural and analog sound!
Friday, 21 April 2017  |  Daniel

This DAC has a very natural, extremely clear and analog sound and a wide sound stage, it has extended delicate highs, instruments in music are projected beyond the speakers with air among them, you will no longer think about speakers but just music, voices sound meaty while bass sounds organic and punchy, this DAC is definitively a giant killer, not to mention I'm hearing lots of nuances and rediscovering my music... I'm still running-in my DAC and will get even better...

The new USB input works perfectly on a Retina MacBook Pro, no drivers needed.

Igloo's service is A+++


Rating:  
The service
Tuesday, 18 April 2017  |  Paul

Was served for an online order by,Peter
I was given a first class service from beginning to end
Everything that should of happened ,happened when it should of
Kept very well informed at every stage


Rating:  
Ps sprout amp
Thursday, 13 April 2017  |  Christopher

Wonderful little piece of kit


Rating:  
HEGEL H80 INTEGRATED AMPLIFIER REVIEW
Friday, 31 March 2017  |  Terence

The Hegel H80 amplifier is an excellent piece of kit which is both well made and sounds absolutely excellent and is well worth the money. Igloo Audio gave an excellent service delivering when promised and keeping me well informed from ordering to delivery, all in all a refreshing change.


Rating:  
Dali menuet speakers
Thursday, 30 March 2017  |  David

Unbelievable sound for bookend speakers .
They work really well Close to walls so if you tight for space would highly recommend these .


Rating:  
ATC 11 HEAVEN
Tuesday, 28 March 2017  |  John

WHAT A DIFFERENCE, THE CURTAINS HAVE BEEN OPENED ON MY MUSIC COLLECTION.


Rating:  
Easy listening
Friday, 17 March 2017  |  Alan

Great sound,detailed but without the CD "glare"
Even on my 8 year old Arcam Solo Neo the top end is much smoother.
The convenience of every track on every CD at a touch on my iPad is transforming my listening.
A genuinely innovative product, which I highly recommend.


Rating:  
ATC SCM11 Speakers
Sunday, 12 March 2017  |  Nick

Give these speaker time to run-in and they won't disappoint. On the right stands they are worth every penny. Great service from Igloo as well!


Rating:  
My best buy
Friday, 10 March 2017  |  Henry

This is such a good toy! It's my best pleasure per spend on hi-fi ever. I can play my own music from my NAS, and access a whole universe of music via Tidal.
Set-up was straightforward, and it has worked flawlessly for a year now. Auralic updates to Lightning interface have all been seamless and their website is informative. I am well pleased.


Rating:  
Very special ,just delightful
Thursday, 9 March 2017  |  Brian

This is possibly the smoothest, detailed ,musical amplifier I've had the pleasure to use with my KEF Ls50s. It really suits them and shows what they're capable of. Bass delivery is tight and accurate,mids and highs smooth and realistic.
I can heartily recommend this integrated amplifier and although it's only has had a few days use so far ,it's excelling in all types of music. Many thanks to all at Igloo Audio for the great service and prompt delivery.


Rating:  
Silver Mogwai XLR interconnect cables
Thursday, 16 February 2017  |  Terence

Excellent delivery service.
Definite improvement in sound quality over the normal interconnects I was using.
Cables are also very well made.
Overall definitely worth the money.


Rating:  
"Dynamic Experience, Volume 2
Tuesday, 31 January 2017  |  David

Excellent.


Rating:  
1 Groove Into Bits, Volume 1
Tuesday, 31 January 2017  |  David

Music is superb, quality recordings. It dosn't get much better than this.


Rating:  
I do recommend
Sunday, 22 January 2017  |  Filip

Great contact with seller.


Rating:  
I'm Blown Away!
Tuesday, 10 January 2017  |  Robert

My hifi system suddenly sounds as if it has doubled in price and it was pretty darned good before I swapped the iPad for the Aries as a streamer of Tidal. The ultra-low noise floor and the pure cleanliness of the sound are allowing the whole system to work synergistically. I can now relax and listen effortlessly to increased levels of detail and emotional communication. Even after 40 years of listening to decent hifi, I an totally wowed by the Aries.


Rating:  
A stunning amplifier.
Thursday, 5 January 2017  |  Arron

My expectations were high from the 3010S2D, following all of the great reviews. Straight out of the box, the sound quality is staggering and taken to a new level when the amp is warm. It manages to retrieve detail I did not know was there and does this without sounding over analytical. The music seems to take on a holographic quality and there is more depth to it all. I've owned several solid state integrated amps over the years, some more expensive than this but this is the best so far. Build quality is superb too. The whole buying process from Igloo was friendly and prompt.


Rating:  
Auralic Aries Mini
Friday, 23 December 2016  |  PAT

A truly excellent piece of kit, probably the best 449 I've spent on hifi. I use it with 480 Custo Hifi Cables DC3 linear power linear supply and an internal SSD hard drive. It sounds great, easily beating my previous Linn Renew DS (Klimax/0). It also acts as a server for my 2 Naim Unitiqutes so I don'y need a NAS. Support from Igloo and Auralic has been fantastic for such a modestly priced piece of kit.


Rating:  
Recommended to me
Thursday, 8 December 2016  |  Alan

Recommended to me by Peter from Igloo Audio & found it a perfect match for the Exposure 3010S2D Amp.


Rating:  
I gave it a 5 star rating
Thursday, 8 December 2016  |  Alan

I gave it a 5 star rating after the comparison against the amps which I owned at the time, which was a 282, 2502, supercap 2 & I found that 3010S2D, at a fraction of the price of my amps, were capable of performing, in my opinion, nicer than those I owned. I owe all this to the conversation & guidance that Peter (from Igloo Audio) gave me.


Rating:  
Finally found audio Bliss
Thursday, 1 December 2016  |  James

I currently had REGA RS3 speakers but just wan't happy with the transparency or bass. Demo'd many speakers until I found these beauties (both visually and acoustically). The stage is deep and wide with the tight bass i was looking for. Thanks to Peter for his suggestion as I was considering the Charwell LS 3/5's.


Rating:  
Chord Hugo Leather Case
Tuesday, 29 November 2016  |  Steve

The leather case is made of good quality leather and is well crafted. It appears to be a good looking, functional and durable compliment to the Hugo. The only problem was deciding which color to choose.


Rating:  
Chord Hugo
Tuesday, 29 November 2016  |  Steve

Having read all of the online reviews of the Chord Hugo since its release, I can now say that all the accolades are truly well deserved. The Hugo can make a bad recording sound good and a good recording sound superlative. It is not often that one can visibly hear the emotion of a singer.
I have been a serious audiophile and aerospace engineer for over 40 years. Listening to music had become a bit stale though. For me, it seemed to be pretty much the status quo repackaged in a new look to add a little excitement. The Hugo though, has brought the fun back in listening to music. I would even go so far as to say that I have rediscovered music. All of this engineered into a small package quite like none that I have ever seen before.
I will say that the on/off switch is a wee bit small for those of us with large fingers, but it is a minor tradeoff that I will gladly live with as there are no sonic tradeoffs. Overall, the Hugo is a marvelously engineered little gem.
Many thanks to Peter Ruler and his staff. I found them to be courteous, professional and engaging.
I look forward to working with them in bringing my rediscovered passion back into my home audio equipment as well.


Rating:  
Excellent service
Monday, 24 October 2016  |  Alan

The phono stage proved to be excellent but even more impressive was the level of customer service afforded by Peter and Karen...they were obviously caring enough to keep me informed every step of the way as to the status of my order.

Deal in complete confidence.


Rating:  
The best you can own?
Tuesday, 4 October 2016  |  Richard

I have rarely been tempted to write a review of any product I have purchased in the past, however the Hifiman He1000 has changed that. It is undoubtedly the best headphone I have ever used or owned.
They are supremely able to reveal detail in recordings that you may never have noticed before. You could argue that this could be a good or bad thing it all depends on the way the detail is presented, if it is thrown in your face so that it becomes a defining aspect of the sound then that's bad. In this case however you tend to notice it "in passing" or rather you don't notice it but simply appreciate its presence, you know it's there but instead of detracting from it adds to your enjoyment of the flow of the music. If listening to a large scale symphonic work for example, you may hear melodic lines or harmonies, things that the composer wrote adding to the overall structure and form of the piece but which have lain obscured in the general sonic texture presented by lesser phones.
Each frequency range,is presented in a balanced manner with no area showing any dominance. The bass is well controlled and extended but never seems over played, those with a more "electronic" preference in their musical taste may miss the apparent prominence given to this area by other phones but make no mistake it is definitely there. The mids and highs are equally well controlled and the overall sound is very accurate without the clinical nature you sometimes find in devices that are described as such, I suppose the best adjective I could use to describe the sound of these cans would be "natural". That is a violin sounds like a violin, a piano like a piano - what better compliment could you pay.
Whether you consider paying over 2500 for a set of headphones is a worthwhile investment is very much a personal thing. I also have a pair of HiFimans's He 560 cans which retail at about a quarter the cost of these and if truth be told would have been happy to continue with these as they possess a good proportion of the abilities of their larger brother. However I had the opportunity to go for these and must say have not been disappointed.
I pre-ordered my V2 set from igloo prior to the UK release at a time when the price was set at the level of the previous version. Not only were they delivered very soon after the release date but the original pre-release price was honoured (there was a 300 increase in retail). Full marks therefore to both service and product.


Rating:  
Do yourself a favour and hear these!
Wednesday, 21 September 2016  |  Kevin

I can wholeheartedly recommend these speakers. Without doubt the best I've ever heard. They partner my Exposure 3010S2D amp wonderfully. Previously, in my acoustically challenged listening room, all the other speakers I've owned sounded veiled and lacked clarity; not with these though, all types of music comes through perfectly balanced, and it's a joy to hear. I truly can't praise these beauties enough.


Rating:  
Bel Canto CDt3
Wednesday, 10 August 2016  |  Roger

An excellent sounding CD transport at a very reasonable price. Slot-loading is new to me but works a treat. A really impressive unit.


Rating:  
Amazing!!
Thursday, 4 August 2016  |  Nikolas

After much review I elected to purchase these headphones to replace by Beats. The clarity and depth of sound produced by these headphones is truly amazing.

Coupled with outstanding customer service from IglooAudio, I couldn't have wished for a better experience.

I highly recommend these headphones and IglooAudio.

Now back to my music!!


Rating:  
exposure 3010sd
Thursday, 28 July 2016  |  Stephen

excellent service many thanks


Rating:  
Impressively well balanced sound.
Thursday, 28 July 2016  |  Kevin

All round I cannot fault this amp at all. Clarity and soundstaging make it a pleasure to hear music I've not played for ages, no matter what genre.


Rating:  
Bel Canto REF600M's
Thursday, 2 June 2016  |  Roger

I am very pleased with the sound of these amplifiers. They are highly transparent, have excellent dynamics and exert tight control of my loudspeakers. Recommended.


Rating:  
Hugo review
Tuesday, 31 May 2016  |  David

Pro: Excellent sound quality - transparent and natural. Electronics get out of the way of the music.
Con: RCA out volume level not fixed. On/off switch difficult to use.
Current settings not retained when switch off.


Rating:  
ATC SCM 40 speakers
Thursday, 26 May 2016  |  Kalhara

Friendly customer service & given good discount really appreciate


Rating:  
AURALiC Aries Mini
Monday, 16 May 2016  |  Roger

Fantastic piece of equipment, straightforward to set up (one hour)
Discreet package, superb quality, an unbelievable price delivering stunning performance. The product I was waiting for to make the switch to streaming.


Rating:  
A Clean Window on the World of Sound
Tuesday, 10 May 2016  |  Peter

What do you need headphones to be? Comfortable? Uncoloured? Revealing? Durable? - whatever reasonable criteria you have, these headphones are designed and built meet your needs and where possible, exceed them. So far mine have not disappointed in any area. The only drawback is possibly that you can't very easily wear them while jogging up underground escalators.
Oh, and they are very open back.
But they deliver the sonic goods in every area that really matters.
Good recordings open up like cossetted chrysanthemums.
They effortlessly reveal the multi layered orchestral sound stage.
With electronica their lighter than air vibrating membrane responds to tiny timbral shifts yeilding expressive complexities where before there was banal interdental gap filling.
In brief, I cannot imagine ever needing another set of headphones.
Are they expensive?
Well, how much time, effort and hard earned have you put into your music collection? Listening to it through these is like finding out what music you really, actually, have.
In that wider sense they are great value!


Rating:  
Superb amp
Friday, 29 April 2016  |  Hilton

I've used Exposure products for years. This replaced my much loved and long serving 2010s Integrated and didn't disappoint! A huge increase in resolution and depth in soundstage compared to its more forward sounding predecessor. Silky treble, clear open midband, supple base and great timing. The after sales service from the dealer and Exposure was also outstanding.


Rating:  
Satisfied customer
Monday, 28 March 2016  |  David

I suspected that my Cyrus 6xp amp was not getting the best out of my Kef LS50 speakers and, after much research, decided to buy the Hegel H80. Although the Cyrus sounded pleasant enough, the Hegel really took control of the LS50s and the sound I was getting through them to a much more sophisticated level - more clarity, detail and sound staging. CD, SACD and even MP3 streaming sound fabulous. I have not yet listened to vinyl or used the DAC facility. Incredible value for money and the service provided by Igloo was superb - item ordered by Igloo from Hegel n Norway on Monday and delivered to me on Friday!

Speak to an expert 01892 532 995 Mon - Sat 9am - 5.30pm